‹ Return to Current Obituaries

Order Flowers now for guaranteed delivery before Avis's visitation.


Avis "Skeet" Hand

Avis “Skeet” Hand, 89, of Springdale, Arkansas passed away on Wednesday, December 27, 2017 at her residence. 

Skeet was born on June 9, 1928 in Lacona, Iowa, a daughter of Alfred E. Butler and Avis L. Butler.  She graduated from Fort Madison, Iowa high school in 1945 and attended Drake University for two years before marriage.  She married Richard L. Hand on August 21, 1948 at Fort Madison, Iowa.  She was primarily a homemaker; however, she worked 20 years in photo processing labs while living in Southern California.  She was a member of the Lacona Christian Church at Lacona, Iowa and life member of the Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 2952, Ladies Auxiliary in Springdale, Arkansas and attended the Pleasant Street Church in Springdale, Arkansas.

Skeet is survived by her son, Robert Hand of Springdale, Arkansas; her daughters, Renita Hurdsmans of Evanston Wyoming and Rhonda Vasquez of Grand Rapids, Michigan; seven grandchildren and 11 great grandchildren.

Visitation will be held on Tuesday, January 2, 2018 at the Backstrom-Pyeatte Funeral Home from 5:00pm to 7:00pm. In Springdale, Arkansas.  Then a visitation will be held at the Ryan Funeral Home in Nevada, Iowa on Friday, January 5, 2018 from 5:00pm to 7:00pm.  Funeral will be held at the funeral home on Saturday, January 6, 2018 at 10:00am with burial to follow at the Evergreen Cemetery in Collins, Iowa.  


To plant memorial trees or send flowers to the family in memory of Avis Hand, please visit our flower store.



Guestbook

so sorry about your mom
prayers for all

mary wilhite Jan 3 2018 12:00 AM

Product Image

A Shades of Elegance was ordered on January 2, 2018

Expression of Sympathy Jan 2 2018 12:00 AM

So very sorry the loss of your Mother. She has a wonderful family and although I met her only once she left such a grand impression. What a sweet lady.

Teresa Sweat Jan 2 2018 12:00 AM

A candle was lit in memory of Avis Hand

Teresa Sweat Jan 2 2018 12:00 AM

We are so sorry about Skeet I bowled with her, love her going to miss her a lot .

Kathy Miller Jan 2 2018 12:00 AM

Skeet was a valued member of the Springdale VFW Auxiliary Post 2952 and we will sure miss her! She loved working on Bingo nights and was all over the room selling Bingo cards and helping the winners gather up their prizes. As an Auxiliary member, she was faithful to attend meetings and do her part with our organization. We mourn with the family during this difficult time.

Karen Vining, President of VFW Post 2951 Auxiliary

Karen Vining Dec 30 2017 12:00 AM

Skeet was such a special lady. All of us at NW Medical Center will miss her very much. My she Rest In Peace

Fran harrison Dec 29 2017 12:00 AM

Friends and Family uploaded 1 to the gallery.

Friends and Family Nov 30 -0001 12:00 AM